Thursday, October 27, 2016

Nouveaux amis

Say what you will about the French, but Southern women know how to make friends, even in Paris. My friend Martha had been in Paris about 6 hours when, as I was off shooting, she marched right up to a delightful French couple here in the playground area with their grandson, and made friends! With that, Martha was off and running making amis all over Paris that week!

Paris Rouge - P.A.R.O.S.H.

 P.A.R.O.S.H at the Palais Royal, always an eclectic mix. I love Paris!

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Miam Miam!!!!

Step inside and enjoy the fragrance of freshly baked bread at Arnaud Delmontel! I can hardly think of anything more wonderful.

Monday, October 24, 2016

Hôtel Dieu de Paris

Founded by Saint-Landry in 651, it's the oldest hospital in Paris. Located just across the street from Notre Dame on Île de la Cité, you've probably walked right past it. Next time go in and see this beautiful courtyard.

Tombées du camion

Paris is chock full of charming and unusual shops that might take a bit of looking but are well worth the effort. Several years ago, I bought *Paris Made By Hand, a treasure of a handbook featuring Paris' most unusual shops by arrondissement. It took some searching but Peter and Mary helped me find it. Tombées du camion, which means "fell off the truck" is a tiny shop full of an electic mix of unusual finds. This is a place that although hard to explain, is a photographer's paradise.

Tombées du camion
17 rue Joseph de Maistre
75018 Paris

* Of note: I recommend doing a search online for any shops you might want to visit as I've found that since the book was written, several have closed. 

Saturday, October 22, 2016

Les feuilles mortes

Jardin du Luxembourg in November is a delight.

Friday, October 21, 2016

Le violoniste

 One of my favorite Métro musician groups. This ensemble consists of students and teachers and I've been so fortunate to find them playing in the Bastille Métro stop on two visits. Vivaldi in the Metro, only in Paris!

Thursday, October 20, 2016


A quiet moment in the Palais Royal. Say what you will, but the French know how to take time to just sit and enjoy their surroundings. 

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

After Hours

It pays to nose around with your camera after hours.

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Paris Rouge - les robes vintage

Paris Marché aux Puces is a shopper's paradise but you really need someone along to show you the ropes. I"ve only been once, in 2009, but have it on my list for a revisit! If you're traveling to Paris and want a lovely guide, my friend Mimi Bleu is the perfect choice. Maybe I'll see you there.

Monday, October 17, 2016

Automne à Paris

Hôtel les Degrés de Notre Dame just steps from my favorite resto, Le Reminet, is glorious in November.
10 rue des Grand Degrés
75005 Paris

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Paris Rouge - Automne à Paris

As I made my way across the bridge to Île St. Louis, I spotted these glorious vines along the quai. There has been great discussion on my Facebook page about these vines. I think you can safely say it's Boston Ivy, while others will argue Virginia Creeper. C'est la vie. 

Friday, October 14, 2016


Early morning, leaving Aéroport Charles DeGalle.

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Ladurée, je t'aime

Window shopping in French is "lèche-vitrine", literally "lick the window." Nothing could be closer to the truth!

21 rue Bonaparte

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Glaces et sorbets

This charming stand in the Jardin du Luxembourg was a hit with my grandchildren.  Deus boules, svp!

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Mon chat noir Meeps

Would be very happy living in Montmartre!

Monday, October 10, 2016

Le photographe

 This photographer, posting his images on the fencing around Saint-Germain-des- Pres. His work is very good.

Sunday, October 9, 2016

Sunday Church Series - Saint-Pierre-de-Montmartre

 Had it not been for Peter's guidance, I"d probably not ventured in this simple but lovely church near the Abbess metro in Montmartre.

Friday, October 7, 2016

À la découverte du passé

These scenes from old Paris were used to shield the construction going on across from the Hôtel de Ville. I could have stood there forever watching interesting people stop and interact with the images.

Thursday, October 6, 2016

Une promenade avec Poppa

What sets this photo apart, is that I captured it on Sunday, November 15, 2015, just a day after the terrorist attack. On this beautiful, sunny day, it felt like the whole city of Paris came out and embraced life again. It was a wonderful thing to witness.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Automne à Paris

I hope to be right back there with friends in novembre. The season I now love most in Paris.

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Très chic

How is it possible to be this thin, with legs that long? Seriously.

Saturday, October 1, 2016

Rapide et lent

A runner along the Palais Royal's arcade is an unusual sight.

Friday, September 30, 2016

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Les raisins

Fête des Vendanges de Montmartre takes place 5-9 octobre. This was taken in July in the Champagne region.

Tuesday, September 27, 2016


Les Fontaines de Pol Bury at the Gallery d'orleans at the Palais Royal offer endless photographic possibilities.

Sunday, September 25, 2016